510-841-9406
1865 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703

Customer Reviews

      I need to take a moment to give a shout-out to the amazing staff who assisted my sister/family. GABRIELA and JOSH KILLED THE GAME with their professional service! A++ top notch flight security!!!

    Back Story- Recently my sister bought tires for her Honda. Killer deal on the set. Her suspension was shot. I replaced struts and shocks before she got an alignment at Joe's. My sister has extreme anxiety, and when she heard there was something wrong with her baby, she started to fall apart. She did not understand what was wrong with her ride, car mechanics can be intimidating and she began to stress out since I touched her car last. She called my mother to voice frustrations. I received a call from mom to go understand the situation /"handle it". My whole day changed since big brother had to go down to understand what transpired. All I was told was that there was damage to tire and could have been from an improper install of struts and shocks. I have installed a few struts and shocks before with no issues. I was racking my brain what could have gone wrong. Did I mess up and its all my fault?  I know some reputable mechanics who I called to trouble shoot issue from my Enterprise days. You never know with mechanics trying to pull fast ones. Personally, I have never been into Joe's until today. Big bro, me, went in there guns blazing. I had limited information and apparently all the wrong information since my sister's anxiety was through the roof. Josh handled himself quite well with my bluntness. I informed him I was not new to the game and wanted to see the paperwork given to my sister. Gabriela jumped in, the one who assisted my sister, and she explained the issue. Apparently my sister curbed her car really bad and the rim was bent. Also she mentioned that rear camber arm was iffy. Ah Ha, it made sense with the information I was given from my sister( a little selective hearing happened with her high anxiety). After all was said an done, Josh reached across the counter with a firm handshake! Having worked in the rental car game, I am well aware emotions can take over! That handshake sealed the deal for me, professionalism at its finest.  

    I highly recommend Joe's for their products and services! Gabriela and Josh, thank you for being understanding of the situation. Joe's Tires you have valuable employees that have strong interpersonal skills that tamed this big brother!

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart!!!

    thumb Manny B.
    4/18/2018

      Just had these folks put on 2 new tires and change the oil.  Friendly staff, clean facility, wide range of tires available...all around excellent experience.  Strong recommend.

    thumb ODannyBoy y.
    3/15/2018

      I had a great experience at Joes Tires. Gabriela educated me on the services my car needed quickly. She was so sweet. She was knowledgeable and friendly! I will be referring all of my friends and family to Joes tires. As a woman people usually treat me like an idiot at tire shops. Not at Joe's though!! Gabriela rocks!!! I am a very satisfied customer!!!!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!

    thumb Sarah P.
    2/09/2018

      Honest and trustworthy work. These folks don't cut corners and they never tell you that you need something that you don't, even when you show up ready to fork out some good money.  Their goal is satisfied return customers, and I'm one of them.

    thumb Jon M.
    2/27/2018

      Danny was fabulous.  Gave me a fabulous deal on 4 new tires and alignment.  I was in and out pretty quickly.  They checked out my car (Oil, fluids, etc) too since I was driving to LA.  Highly recommend going here.  Will be switching from the ford dealership to here for all my maintenance work.  Thank you!

    thumb Felicia P.
    3/17/2017

      Joe's tires saved the day one again!  My daughter and I hit a pothole in Oakland and damaged 2 of my tires.   I called in to order two tires to be installed for the next morning.  Imani took my order but then got the general manager Jose on  the phone to come confirm the order.  The next day I arrived at Joe's tires,  Told them my dreadful story and immediately they got to work.  They completed the 2 tires in a few hours But as Jose's team did the alignment he found a problem.  There is a part he could order that could resolve the issue but they would need to order it.  That's when I decided to call my insurance company.  I asked them if the incident would be covered under my policy.  They said absolutely! Immediately they took control.   I told Jose that I called my insurance company.  The team including Jose at Joes tires Took care of me the entire time  they even took pictures For the insurance company and sent them to me  While also working directly with the insurance company.  I will always go back for service to Joe's Tires.  You couldn't ask for better 1st class tire service. Thank you again for everything! Joe's tires is amazing.

    thumb East L.
    6/09/2018

      If you are a female, or you look like a female or you're a transgender woman ect. I would not recommend going here. I've been to many repair shops over the years and this is the only place that I think ripped me off cause they assumed they could take advantage of me since I look young and looking female. The people here were very condescending and sexist toward me. Just be weary of this place or find somewhere else.

    thumb Jules H.
    6/14/2018

      I had a sidewall tire rip on a Sunday and had to drive 60-miles on Monday.   Joe's tires is open on Sundays.  When I got there Danny was my service person -- so friendly and clear, too, about the damage.  I actually had two rips.  The replacement tire was put on in less then 40 minutes while I waited (although they would have driven me home if I'd needed that).  It was cheaper, and altho different from my 3 other tires, he asked me to pay attention to the the way car drives and if there's any suggestion of imbalance or misalignment, come right back.  There was no problem to come back for at that time.

    I had another tire near-miss ten days later, and Danny checked out the tire fully on the lift and found nothing wrong.  As before he was so pleasant and friendly and helpful in showing me that what I'd thought was split was really a shadow in the tread. (Not the newest tire.) The waiting area is quiet, spacious and clean.  I will take my car back there next time, not just for tires but other work, too.

    thumb Nellie H.
    7/07/2018

      Fast, efficient and affordable. The man running everything was so busy but got us taken care of with a tire patch right away, and ahead of schedule. Very pleased with the service.

    thumb James H.
    7/10/2017

      Joe's tires is AMAZING!! I went there yesterday for the first time (on a recommendation), as a couple of my tires were bald. They did the tires for a great price, then my battery was playing up and I couldn't leave! They just made my issue so much easier to solve - they got one of the top prius mechanics to come over from Toyota Berkeley to look at it, and got it all sorted for me (under warrantee!!), the car towed, everything... They also fixed my faulty car key, fixed my phone, gave me access to coffee, and and gave my dogs treats - AND drove me home. I took our Tundra down there today, and I got a complete service, including new window wipers, for $153!!  I can't say enough about what a relief and a pleasure it was to meet Josh, "Boss" (I think his name is Mario), Gabriela, Emo, and the mechanics.

    thumb Philippa K.
    1/31/2018

      Needed a tire patched up and this was the closest place to me. Had to wait an hour but was willing to because I knew I was drop in. People ahead of me were getting their tires patched up also. Plus some had more extensive work being done. Service was great. Jose was very nice and courteous even though they were very busy.

    thumb Rob N.
    2/19/2018

      This place is not just a tire shop. NOOO. That's what I thought years ago when I needed a couple new tires. I had just taken my car to a high-end popular mechanic in Berkeley and had a major tune-up, but Jose and his staff, while doing my tires, noticed that my timing belt had a tear and was going to pop at any point. How'd the other place miss this?!? Joe's has been my go to mechanic shop ever since and they have kept my '95 Camry ALIVE, literally, and running beautifully. They're honest, I'm never gouged, and they are just awesome, friendly, reliable people. One of Berkeley's best kept secrets.

    thumb Abigail S.
    3/01/2018

      I drove in today with a tire that was low on air.  They checked it out, removed the nail and repaired it, all in 20 minutes and then did not charge me!!  What nice people they are.  Also the cleanest garage that I have ever seen!!

    thumb Ruth S.
    8/07/2017

      This is a very professional tire shop. They are extremely reliable and punctual, and take great care in their work. The personnel are friendly and responsive.

    I had a tire change and alignment done. Afterwards, my Saab felt like new.

    Leaving the shop, I forgot to take my groceries that I had got at the Trader Joe's on the corner. When I came back an hour later to pick them up, they had carefully stored the bags behind the counter so that nothing would get nabbed. Thank you!

    thumb Alexander A.
    5/07/2018

      One day my coworker came into my office and let me know that my car had a flat. I called AAA and they came out and put a temp tire on until I could get it checked out. I was recommended to Joe's Tires by Toyota of Berkeley.

    I arrived without an appointment to get my tire checked out. They were able to take me right away, so I went grocery shopping at Trader Joe's while waiting. They fixed my flat and got me back on the road for $29.00, much cheaper than a new tire.

    Joe's is a good shop, fast and a convenient location for me. Although I would rather not come back, it's good to have a good place to go if you need to.

    thumb Rebekah T.
    10/09/2017

      Excellent, cheerful service. Affordable, comfortable waiting area, and accessible to TJs, etc so you can even shop while you wait!

    thumb Hali H.
    1/20/2018

      We went in for a tire emergency in a Sunday afternoon. Gabriela was super nice to us. The tech double inspected the tires condition, and made sure everything was rebooted before we left the place and charged ZERO service fee. Definitely we will go back for other services in future. Plus, the place is dog friendly too. Recommend!

    thumb Jacky C.
    7/01/2018

      I've found my go to tire place!!!!  These guys are amazing. Josh was exceptional explaining the different tire ratings for my Maserati. Everything was quick courteous and complete. I could not be happier with the service. Pricing was fair. They did not try to up sell any add ons or things I did not need. Thanks guys and I'll be back with my other vehicles

    thumb Anthony N.
    2/21/2018

      Thanks Joe's for your awesome customer service!  Took my tire in because if a screw in the tread.  They checked all tires and noticed a bubble in another tire which could have led to a blow out....thanks for potentially saving me and somene else from an accident and possible injury.  Third tire issue they have helped me with....always excellent service....thanks again!

    thumb Vinita G.
    10/09/2017

      This review is LONG over due. Few months ago it was time for me to get new tires. My mom recommended me to joe's tires and had told me they had reasonable prices. We all know how expensive tires can be haha. First coming in i got a friendly welcoming from GABRIELA who was so kind and was really intuitive to all my concerns and what tires and price line best suited me. When my tires were done i needed to get my shocks and struts replaced due to them being completely shot. My big brother kindly did them for me. After my shocks and struts were finished i was able to come back and get my alignment done. Just a few days ago i came back with concerns of my steering wheel vibrating and my tires feeling weird. I had called in when i was at work and they right on the spot told me to come in and they would check it out. When i arrived Gabriela was working that day. Hey girl!!! Lol and she as always was super kind and listened to what i was going through with my car. As i waited for them to inspect my car and see what the problem was they had a nice lounge are with beverages and coffee including t.v for little entertainment.  After a little time went by Gabriela let me know what the crew had said was going on with the car. Joe's tires was kind enough to fit me in for some work on my car that day and to schedule and appointment  another day for the rest of the work. BIG thank you to the joe's tires team you guys are the best.
    I highly recommend this place. They are super kind and super professional. They will continue to have me as a loyal customer!

    thumb Jennifer B.
    6/28/2018

      What an awesome tire shop! Ended up with a screw in my tire on a weekend. Called the Toyota dealer because Big-O tire said we didn't have a key for our tire locks (after they had the car ALL day and couldn't fix it) and got Josh at Joe's tire ... he's my hero. Had us bring it in first thing Sunday and had it fixed within 45 minutes. He went above and beyond and provided incredible service. We just found our new tire shop! Thanks, Josh.

    thumb Kendra M.
    2/25/2018

      Amazing customer service!! Needed a new tire asap after my tire had a rip in it. I called several other tire places and they all said they could order the tire for me but it could take a couple of days to arrive. Joe's not only had the tire I needed but was able to install it the same day. After dropping my car off it took only 20 minutes for the entire process. They were also cheaper than other stores l called in the area. Extremely satisfied with my experience. Will definitely be coming here in the future for any tire-related needs!

    thumb Steffie L.
    6/30/2017

      Great place! Came here to get a new tire after I got a flat. Terrific service. Affordable and quick. Also very clean, with nice waiting area and super helpful staff. Will definitely return for all my tire needs.

    thumb Kaye K.
    2/25/2018

      I went in today to get some new tires. And I have to say Gabriela was awesome. She is very nice and professional, and she got me what I needed. Whenever friends or family need new tires, I always recommend Joe's Tires. They're the best.

    thumb W. G.
    4/23/2018

      I've had two good experiences with these folks.  In both cases, the experience was painless, fast, and their price was good.  In the first case, I had to replace my tires, and they were able to order just the tires that I wanted and it was a quick in-and-out process: I dropped off the car, took off for a leisurely lunch, and they were done an hour and a half later.  In the second case, a tire went flat, and they were able to figure out that it could be patched and repaired -- for only $30.  That's a bargain.  I never felt like the sales folks were trying to upsell me, the experience was pleasant and rapid, and the process was faster than at Big O tires.  I'd definitely come back here agian.

    thumb Notmy R.
    3/13/2017

      The staff was very friendly! Josh made sure I know the terms and explained to me stuff, considering that I don't know anything about cars.

    thumb Kathleen Starr F.
    5/24/2017

      These people are awesome! After buying a new set of wheels from them and thoroughly enjoying them and their performance, I hit a pot hole while driving on the great highways that California has to offer and kapow!

    I took the car in to Joe's and they took great care of me and my tire.

    They are great people, offer fair prices on service and really take care of their customers!

    thumb Wendi P.
    2/09/2018

      Fast, friendly, affordable. They have limited technicians on before 9am, so if you plan to show up at 8, you may wait longer than you expect.

    thumb Kitty D.
    8/15/2017

      Danny was extremely helpful and went over and beyond even when I couldn't really explain the situation with my tires. He assured me that he would get to the bottom of the problem. He made sure that safety was a priority. My tire sensor light had been on and off for almost a year and I finally decided to get it checked. The other tire place told me it was my rims causing the problem therefore wanted me to change the rim rather than the tire. Danny got the tires and rims checked out for me and saved me a lot of money. Apparently the rims were not the problem at all. I forget what he said was the problem but he was very detailed about it. Thank you so much for the excellent service and honesty.

    thumb tenzin s.
    3/22/2018

      WOW - Joe's is the BEST!!!  Here's why: Took my flat in to be repaired but it couldn't be [side wall puncture] . . . and THEY DIDN'T CHARGED FOR THAT!!!  But, that left me with only 3 tires plus the spare, so the next day, I went back to buy 4 news ones . . . . . but I was late for work so I called them to let them know I was on my way. When I arrived, not only did the sales rep meet me at the front door with the paperwork ready to go but the technician was there waiting too!  I mean, GEEZ!!! Incredible service - and all the people are super friendly and knowledgeable. I am def going back to Joe's again - and have already told friends!!

    thumb Tom P.
    2/21/2018

      When you need to have your brakes fixed in the middle of a 3000 mile road trip, you need to find someone fast, reliable, and trustworthy. Joe's fit the bill! They were able to get me in the same day I called, and replaced my front brakes (and rotors) for a reasonable cost. MUCH appreciated, because they easily could have seen my Colorado license plates and assumed (wrongly, as I grew up in Berkeley), that I was some desperate out-of-town rube in need of a quick rip-off. They fixed my brakes quickly, honestly, and for a fair price (not the cheapest, but you don't necessarily want dirt cheap when you're dealing with the things that prevent you from plowing headlong into the car in front of you). Thanks, Joe's!

    thumb Kym G.
    6/13/2017

      this place is amazing i want to give a big s/o to jose  and his team maan when i tell you these guys are life savers they are god sent any tires needs im coming here...all i had to do was remove a wheel lock but i couldn't find the key it became a journey and a hassle the work is not even done yet but their customer service is soo great they make you feel like you have know them for years maaan thank you guys and i would recommend them to anyone much love.

    thumb Joseph R.
    6/14/2018

      Amazing, quick services. if you purchased the warranty for your Toyota vehicle these people can for sure help you out as well! Gabriela is the sweetest person who accommodated my needs through this unexpected,  inconvenient ruptured tire conundrum.

    thumb angie c.
    7/03/2018

      They were awesome! My scooter got a flat. I brought the rim and new rubber tire in without an appointment and they put in together and pumped it up in 10 minutes.

    thumb Heather L.
    10/11/2017

      This was a surprisingly pleasant place to get my car serviced. Everyone I interacted with was helpful and kind. Communication was great, no high-pressure sales, and the work was done extremely quickly. I don't understand how they maintain such a friendly & relaxed attitude while working with such awesome efficiency. I'll just stay in happy wonder at this mystery.

    thumb Oliver K.
    5/17/2018

      I went in to ask about getting an alignment and the guy at the counter checked with the guy in the shop and said, "Pull it in, we can do it now." It only took a half-hour.

    thumb Anomynous Visitor W.
    7/08/2018

      I found that place and it was excellent service!! Jose was great! He took care of my car. He was make sure it will be quickly with great smile and awesome attitude:) thanks!

    thumb Bar H.
    5/24/2017

      I dropped off my Subaru Impreza yesterday (04/18) around 7:45 AM at Joe's tires. I was the only customer at that time. I was told that someone will look at my car immediately and that they will get back to me by 9:30 AM to let me know what is going on with the break pads and if it needs to be changed.  I did not hear back from them and I called them at 10:30 AM for an update. I was told that my car was next in line and I should hear back shortly. After waiting for a few hours, I called again at 1:30 and I got the same response that my car was next in line and I will receive a call back shortly. At this point I was irritated and could clearly sense that they are not being honest with me. The person had some trouble even locating my car before giving the generic response. I just told them not to touch my car, picked up my car within the next hour and took it to a different place to get it serviced. I have serious trust issues with this place and even if I were to return I am not sure that they are capable of providing quality service. It is rather unfortunate that I have to give a bad review to Joe's Tires but I had a terrible experience yesterday with this place and they have lost me as a customer (and possibly many more).

    thumb Jayaganesh S.
    4/19/2018

      Have had my brake fluid light going on and off for a while.  Wasn't sure if it was low or there was some other horrible issue.

    Got a quote from Midas, and for them to just check it out and fill up my fluid was outrageous. Over $100. Was about to just do it myself but I just happened to be out front of Joe's Tires. Stopped in to ask how much it would cost to check it out...sure enough Danny came out to help. Checked the fluid level, filled it up and sent me on my way. Even showed me where it was should I need to do it myself next time. I will most definitely be coming back and getting all of my service done here!!

    thumb K M.
    1/30/2018

      I was a walk-in customer on a Monday afternoon, and I needed to get a nail removed that was embedded in my front right tire & causing my tire pressure light to turn on. Josh at the front desk welcomed me warmly and explained everything to me very clearly. Gerardo in the garage was equally as warm as Josh, and assured me that he could get the repair work done in a timely manner. Total time I spent here: 25 minutes! So impressed with this establishment! Highly recommend!

    thumb K. V.
    4/10/2017