510-841-9406
1865 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703

Customer Reviews

      Joe's tires saved the day one again!  My daughter and I hit a pothole in Oakland and damaged 2 of my tires.   I called in to order two tires to be installed for the next morning.  Imani took my order but then got the general manager Jose on  the phone to come confirm the order.  The next day I arrived at Joe's tires,  Told them my dreadful story and immediately they got to work.  They completed the 2 tires in a few hours But as Jose's team did the alignment he found a problem.  There is a part he could order that could resolve the issue but they would need to order it.  That's when I decided to call my insurance company.  I asked them if the incident would be covered under my policy.  They said absolutely! Immediately they took control.   I told Jose that I called my insurance company.  The team including Jose at Joes tires Took care of me the entire time  they even took pictures For the insurance company and sent them to me  While also working directly with the insurance company.  I will always go back for service to Joe's Tires.  You couldn't ask for better 1st class tire service. Thank you again for everything! Joe's tires is amazing.

    thumb East L.
    6/09/2018

      Came in on a busy Saturday afternoon (Labor Day weekend, home Cal football game) with a nail in my tire.  They warmed me it would be a bit of a wait.  But when I arrived I was greeted promptly, headed to Trader Joe's for a quick shop and by the time I came back, it was all done! 30 min and 32$! Thanks!! I'll definitely keep them in mind when I have tire and alignment issues!

    thumb Deirdre M.
    9/01/2018

      This review is LONG over due. Few months ago it was time for me to get new tires. My mom recommended me to joe's tires and had told me they had reasonable prices. We all know how expensive tires can be haha. First coming in i got a friendly welcoming from GABRIELA who was so kind and was really intuitive to all my concerns and what tires and price line best suited me. When my tires were done i needed to get my shocks and struts replaced due to them being completely shot. My big brother kindly did them for me. After my shocks and struts were finished i was able to come back and get my alignment done. Just a few days ago i came back with concerns of my steering wheel vibrating and my tires feeling weird. I had called in when i was at work and they right on the spot told me to come in and they would check it out. When i arrived Gabriela was working that day. Hey girl!!! Lol and she as always was super kind and listened to what i was going through with my car. As i waited for them to inspect my car and see what the problem was they had a nice lounge are with beverages and coffee including t.v for little entertainment.  After a little time went by Gabriela let me know what the crew had said was going on with the car. Joe's tires was kind enough to fit me in for some work on my car that day and to schedule and appointment  another day for the rest of the work. BIG thank you to the joe's tires team you guys are the best.
    I highly recommend this place. They are super kind and super professional. They will continue to have me as a loyal customer!

    thumb Jennifer B.
    6/28/2018

      I've found my go to tire place!!!!  These guys are amazing. Josh was exceptional explaining the different tire ratings for my Maserati. Everything was quick courteous and complete. I could not be happier with the service. Pricing was fair. They did not try to up sell any add ons or things I did not need. Thanks guys and I'll be back with my other vehicles

    thumb Anthony N.
    2/21/2018

      Danny Damrong was super helpful!! He took care of my alignment needs and it was so smooth going from the time I was parking my car, till pick up!!  Took about an hour with my appointment and with the location of Joe's tires I was able to get a haircut and pick up a couple other things right in time before pick up. You also get a printout of before and after specs of how your tires were positioned which Danny explains that I had been dragging along previous to the alignment. Which means now, I'm gonna be rolling along more efficient. Thank you Danny Damrong and Joe's tires for and awesome transaction!!

    thumb Terry N.
    10/04/2018

      I'M STILL LOVING JOE'S TIRES!

    I went back in last week after not being theere for 4 months, and each of them, when they came in, said, "Hello Philippa - where are your chihuahuas?' They did wonderful work - a service plus a new tire for $199 (including tire rotation)

    thumb Philippa K.
    7/23/2018

      Danny was extremely helpful and went over and beyond even when I couldn't really explain the situation with my tires. He assured me that he would get to the bottom of the problem. He made sure that safety was a priority. My tire sensor light had been on and off for almost a year and I finally decided to get it checked. The other tire place told me it was my rims causing the problem therefore wanted me to change the rim rather than the tire. Danny got the tires and rims checked out for me and saved me a lot of money. Apparently the rims were not the problem at all. I forget what he said was the problem but he was very detailed about it. Thank you so much for the excellent service and honesty.

    thumb tenzin s.
    3/22/2018

      Came here before I hit the road to drive to LA because my tire sensor light was on. They checked my tires, made sure the pressure was correct and there were no leaks or nails. They reassured me that it was safe to drive and the issue was with the sensor itself. And they did all this for no charge! Awesome service, thanks so much for helping me out and making sure I had a great trip.

    thumb Marcy C.
    8/07/2018

      Yelpers, you saved me with your reviews! You guys were spot on. My tire pressure light came on, stating that my right front tire was low even after I went to Chevron to fill the tires. I was worried I had a nail and had to get it plugged. First impression of Joe's Tires is that it is very clean and orderly. Danny was very friendly and helpful, stating our options and costs. Turns out my tire pressure for all 4 tires were off and the right tire happened to trigger my tire detention system, so I walked out the door with AMAZING service and it didn't cost a dime!

    thumb Siew Leng P.
    9/22/2018

      We were in from out of town and needed some help with a rental car. We had no appointment but dropped in and Danny was super helpful. I would recommend this place for all your auto care needs!

    thumb Anne W.
    7/22/2018

      I need to take a moment to give a shout-out to the amazing staff who assisted my sister/family. GABRIELA and JOSH KILLED THE GAME with their professional service! A++ top notch flight security!!!

    Back Story- Recently my sister bought tires for her Honda. Killer deal on the set. Her suspension was shot. I replaced struts and shocks before she got an alignment at Joe's. My sister has extreme anxiety, and when she heard there was something wrong with her baby, she started to fall apart. She did not understand what was wrong with her ride, car mechanics can be intimidating and she began to stress out since I touched her car last. She called my mother to voice frustrations. I received a call from mom to go understand the situation /"handle it". My whole day changed since big brother had to go down to understand what transpired. All I was told was that there was damage to tire and could have been from an improper install of struts and shocks. I have installed a few struts and shocks before with no issues. I was racking my brain what could have gone wrong. Did I mess up and its all my fault?  I know some reputable mechanics who I called to trouble shoot issue from my Enterprise days. You never know with mechanics trying to pull fast ones. Personally, I have never been into Joe's until today. Big bro, me, went in there guns blazing. I had limited information and apparently all the wrong information since my sister's anxiety was through the roof. Josh handled himself quite well with my bluntness. I informed him I was not new to the game and wanted to see the paperwork given to my sister. Gabriela jumped in, the one who assisted my sister, and she explained the issue. Apparently my sister curbed her car really bad and the rim was bent. Also she mentioned that rear camber arm was iffy. Ah Ha, it made sense with the information I was given from my sister( a little selective hearing happened with her high anxiety). After all was said an done, Josh reached across the counter with a firm handshake! Having worked in the rental car game, I am well aware emotions can take over! That handshake sealed the deal for me, professionalism at its finest.  

    I highly recommend Joe's for their products and services! Gabriela and Josh, thank you for being understanding of the situation. Joe's Tires you have valuable employees that have strong interpersonal skills that tamed this big brother!

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart!!!

    thumb Manny B.
    4/18/2018

      If you are a female, or you look like a female or you're a transgender woman ect. I would not recommend going here. I've been to many repair shops over the years and this is the only place that I think ripped me off cause they assumed they could take advantage of me since I look young and looking female. The people here were very condescending and sexist toward me. Just be weary of this place or find somewhere else.

    thumb Jules H.
    6/14/2018

      From the moment I walked in everyone took great care of us! Both Jose and Gabrielle took extra time to explain what was needed on our car even staying late and pulling out old car parts to show me how the suspension components work in my car. We just got back from a road trip with the new suspension system and it felt like we were driving a totally different car. It was amazing! I highly recommend Joe's tires for their friendly, fast, and thorough service!

    thumb Krysta W.
    8/18/2018

      3000 miles on the new whip and I run over a screw into the sidewall. Dang!

    Joe's is the tire shop for Toyota. Pulled in, installed the spare, ordered a new tire, and it will be ready/mounted tomorrow.

    Thanks, Danny!

    thumb David N.
    9/20/2018

      Time is ones biggest asset and Joe's understands that. In and out in less than 30 minutes for a balance and rotation. Not more than two steps in the front doors do I hear my name from across the room, Brook! Gabriella was quick to recognize me and get me rolling. Not only did she process admin quick but also made a connection with me. Talking about my car lead into a conversation about travel and it really enhanced my experience. She provided grade A customer service which will keep me coming back.

    thumb Brook K.
    7/17/2018

      I went in to ask about getting an alignment and the guy at the counter checked with the guy in the shop and said, "Pull it in, we can do it now." It only took a half-hour.

    thumb Anomynous Visitor W.
    7/08/2018

      After my dealership service team realized that my "low tire pressure" was actually a seriously damaged tire, I was referred to Joe's tires. After a long work day, it was really the last thing I wanted to do, but knew I had to. As soon as I walked in the door, I heard Gaby's cheerful voice helping the customer before me. She immediately put me at ease. You'd have no idea she'd been there all day. Her energy was great. After a quick look at the tire, she determined the damage was serious and we were both glad that I rolled in when I did. The service team promptly replaced the tire and I was on my way home in no time. Service was prompt, professional, and friendly. This is the best experience I've had at any shop. Definitely going back for any tire need!!!

    thumb Fergie L.
    9/04/2018

      WOW - Joe's is the BEST!!!  Here's why: Took my flat in to be repaired but it couldn't be [side wall puncture] . . . and THEY DIDN'T CHARGED FOR THAT!!!  But, that left me with only 3 tires plus the spare, so the next day, I went back to buy 4 news ones . . . . . but I was late for work so I called them to let them know I was on my way. When I arrived, not only did the sales rep meet me at the front door with the paperwork ready to go but the technician was there waiting too!  I mean, GEEZ!!! Incredible service - and all the people are super friendly and knowledgeable. I am def going back to Joe's again - and have already told friends!!

    thumb Tom P.
    2/21/2018

      This is a very professional tire shop. They are extremely reliable and punctual, and take great care in their work. The personnel are friendly and responsive.

    I had a tire change and alignment done. Afterwards, my Saab felt like new.

    Leaving the shop, I forgot to take my groceries that I had got at the Trader Joe's on the corner. When I came back an hour later to pick them up, they had carefully stored the bags behind the counter so that nothing would get nabbed. Thank you!

    thumb Alexander A.
    5/07/2018

      Danny was amazing and really helped me out when I needed my car ready for a long drive to LA.  Great customer service!! Highly recommend.

    thumb Reilly E.
    11/08/2018

      This is the best tire change place. Great guys. Whilst the other guys insisted on purchasing new tire. This guy changed the tires under the tire protection plan without any hassle. I didn't know if they had a shuttle service or not but Jose gave me a ride to my place upon request without hesitation. Seriously the best service. East or West Jose is the best.

    thumb Roop A.
    11/09/2018

      I went in today to get some new tires. And I have to say Gabriela was awesome. She is very nice and professional, and she got me what I needed. Whenever friends or family need new tires, I always recommend Joe's Tires. They're the best.

    thumb W. G.
    4/23/2018

      These guys really went out of their way to help me out of a jam when my tire was punctured by a screw! I have rare 13" tires and they were able to source, locate, deliver and install the tire within 24 hours. Jose especially, really running a tight ship there and always with a smile on his face. Free coffee in the lobby too, can't beat that! Thanks Joe's tires 😀

    thumb Lee R.
    8/22/2018

      This was a surprisingly pleasant place to get my car serviced. Everyone I interacted with was helpful and kind. Communication was great, no high-pressure sales, and the work was done extremely quickly. I don't understand how they maintain such a friendly & relaxed attitude while working with such awesome efficiency. I'll just stay in happy wonder at this mystery.

    thumb Oliver K.
    5/17/2018

      I really recommend this place, the customer service is great and friendly. I thought I had a flat tire and the service tech Danny checked all my tires for free and he found the problem, he said that there was a bad sensor not a flat. I felt that he was very honest and I was happy with the services.

    thumb Oscar V.
    7/18/2018

      this place is amazing i want to give a big s/o to jose  and his team maan when i tell you these guys are life savers they are god sent any tires needs im coming here...all i had to do was remove a wheel lock but i couldn't find the key it became a journey and a hassle the work is not even done yet but their customer service is soo great they make you feel like you have know them for years maaan thank you guys and i would recommend them to anyone much love.

    thumb Joseph R.
    6/14/2018

      Amazing, quick services. if you purchased the warranty for your Toyota vehicle these people can for sure help you out as well! Gabriela is the sweetest person who accommodated my needs through this unexpected,  inconvenient ruptured tire conundrum.

    thumb Angie C.
    7/03/2018

      The quote I got on the phone was lower than the final invoice. It was my own fault, since I assumed the quoted price held and I signed the work order without confirming the price. Nevertheless, the staff member recognized the confusion and honored the phone price without incident. Really good service. I'll definitely bring my vehicle back.

    thumb A R.
    9/21/2018

      They told me a single tire change would take 1 hour, but it ended up taking 5. I called back multiple times to check the status of my vehicle, and each time they said it was almost finished, but that was obviously not the case.

    thumb Josh T.
    8/09/2018

      Just had these folks put on 2 new tires and change the oil.  Friendly staff, clean facility, wide range of tires available...all around excellent experience.  Strong recommend.

    thumb ODannyBoy y.
    3/15/2018

      This place is not just a tire shop. NOOO. That's what I thought years ago when I needed a couple new tires. I had just taken my car to a high-end popular mechanic in Berkeley and had a major tune-up, but Jose and his staff, while doing my tires, noticed that my timing belt had a tear and was going to pop at any point. How'd the other place miss this?!? Joe's has been my go to mechanic shop ever since and they have kept my '95 Camry ALIVE, literally, and running beautifully. They're honest, I'm never gouged, and they are just awesome, friendly, reliable people. One of Berkeley's best kept secrets.

    thumb Abigail S.
    3/01/2018

      Honest and trustworthy work. These folks don't cut corners and they never tell you that you need something that you don't, even when you show up ready to fork out some good money.  Their goal is satisfied return customers, and I'm one of them.

    thumb Jon M.
    2/27/2018

      I appreciated the no pressure approach from Danny and Gabriela. Great customer service. My whole visit there was a refreshing change from the stigma that surrounds auto and tire technicians. Thanks guys I will be coming back.

    thumb Noah Z.
    10/10/2018

      Joe's tires was fantastic and affordable. I had to get a new tire, patch up my spare tire, fix my cars alignment and got my rotations done. Danny went out of his way to do this all overnight so that I could get my car back within 24 hours! I am so grateful and will definitely be back! Couldn't recommend this top quality service more. Especially grateful to the kind employees!!

    thumb Alexa B.
    8/28/2018

      Very fast and friendly service. They were able to take me as a walk in, which was very helpful. Clean inside and somehow doesn't have a strong tire smell, which is nice. Thanks Gabi!

    thumb Krista N.
    10/04/2018

      What an awesome tire shop! Ended up with a screw in my tire on a weekend. Called the Toyota dealer because Big-O tire said we didn't have a key for our tire locks (after they had the car ALL day and couldn't fix it) and got Josh at Joe's tire ... he's my hero. Had us bring it in first thing Sunday and had it fixed within 45 minutes. He went above and beyond and provided incredible service. We just found our new tire shop! Thanks, Josh.

    thumb Kendra M.
    2/25/2018

      I dropped off my Subaru Impreza yesterday (04/18) around 7:45 AM at Joe's tires. I was the only customer at that time. I was told that someone will look at my car immediately and that they will get back to me by 9:30 AM to let me know what is going on with the break pads and if it needs to be changed.  I did not hear back from them and I called them at 10:30 AM for an update. I was told that my car was next in line and I should hear back shortly. After waiting for a few hours, I called again at 1:30 and I got the same response that my car was next in line and I will receive a call back shortly. At this point I was irritated and could clearly sense that they are not being honest with me. The person had some trouble even locating my car before giving the generic response. I just told them not to touch my car, picked up my car within the next hour and took it to a different place to get it serviced. I have serious trust issues with this place and even if I were to return I am not sure that they are capable of providing quality service. It is rather unfortunate that I have to give a bad review to Joe's Tires but I had a terrible experience yesterday with this place and they have lost me as a customer (and possibly many more).

    thumb Jayaganesh S.
    4/19/2018

      Great place! Came here to get a new tire after I got a flat. Terrific service. Affordable and quick. Also very clean, with nice waiting area and super helpful staff. Will definitely return for all my tire needs.

    thumb Kaye K.
    2/25/2018

      We went in for a tire emergency in a Sunday afternoon. Gabriela was super nice to us. The tech double inspected the tires condition, and made sure everything was rebooted before we left the place and charged ZERO service fee. Definitely we will go back for other services in future. Plus, the place is dog friendly too. Recommend!

    thumb Jacky C.
    7/01/2018

      I've had two flat tires in the last 2 months. Each time I tried to get my tire fixed at establishments closer to my home they were "too busy," "didn't have my brand of tire." or simply didn't respond to me at all.  Both times I ended up going far out of my way to Joe's tires and they took care of me right away, were so friendly and extremely professional.  I have a dog walking and pet taxi service.  If I don't have a car I can't work.  Telling my customers at the last minute that I can't take care of their pets while they are at work is not acceptable.  Gabriella and Danny got me out the door both times in less than an hour.  The next time I need help with a tire I won't even try a closer place.  It's better to just go to Joe's where I know the service is reliable and I won't be treated like I'm an imposition as I was at the other service centers.

    thumb Diane W.
    7/17/2018