510-841-9406
1865 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703

Customer Reviews

      My car really needed new tires, and Joe's Tires came in clutch. I researched what tires I needed and wanted that were in my price range. I called them to make an appointment in four days, and they said they could get me the tires I wanted by that time.

    When I arrived, everything was done in a timely manner and was in an out in 10 minutes. I was able to leave my car and drop it off for the whole day, since I worked close. It took about 5 minutes for me to get my keys, sign what I needed to sign, and drive away.

    The rates were reasonable and expected. No issues with this place, and would recommend any of my friends to come here if they need new tires.

    thumb Maxwell M.
    1/03/2020

      My BMW X3's tire pressure monitor told me my front passenger tire was low on air yesterday, and I could feel the soft tire while driving.  This morning it was completely flat, but with run flat tires (RFT's), was able to drive to a gas station and fill it with 40 lbs. of air.  Went to Joe's Tires and fifteen minutes later, by the time I got there, the pressure monitor said was down to 24 lbs., so I knew it was bad.

    It was.  Carlos there quickly reviewed the car within minutes of me arriving at 8:30 AM.  Said the punctured tire was un-fixable because it was in the shoulder of the tire tread. This is my 3rd X3 and I've been through this before.  I've also had RFT's patched & repaired but not this time unfortunately.

    Measured the depth of the other tires, this is a new 2019 car with just 7,000 miles on it, and said they were over the wear depth where I could just replace the one tire.  I had to get all 4 replaced.  This was not unexpected.  I asked was this because of the RFT tires and he said no, it was a symptom of 4-wheel drive cars.

    Uber'd back to work by 9 AM.  At 1:30 PM - 4 new Bridgestones arrived at Joe's, and by 2:30 PM I Uber'd back and picked the car up, ready to go.  You can't drive a 4-wheel drive car with 3 old tires and one new one, it'll damage the transfer case and transmission because they would be different diameters.  

    Carlos said he had just worked on 2 Subaru's with 2,000 miles on new tires all of which had to be replaced because of the same problem.  I'm questioning the need for AWD in the future, given I don't do any off road or driving that really needs it.

    But liked working with Joe's Tires, everything is quick, reasonably priced, nicely located for me, as happy as I could be under the circumstances.  Good job.

    thumb Alan O.
    8/09/2019

      I got nail in my tire and they were referred to me by one of my customers. Wow, completely  blowed my mind with the service. I waited one hour - as a walk in - and after $35 my tire was fixed. Its been already 4 months and so far so good. These guys are real GEMS!

    thumb Monika K.
    12/28/2018

      I've patronized Joe's Tires for the past two years or so. I even previously wrote positive reviews like the owner Jose requested.

    I brought my car in on a Sunday to have the tires I purchased here rotated (free rotations for life of tire). I was told they couldn't get to it for at least an hour but I was in no hurry so I dropped the car and got some lunch.

    I got a call about 70 minutes later saying they couldn't and wouldn't rotate the tires because they're so unevenly worn. I was told that "even though you did the rotation every 5,000 miles, you should have had two alignments done during that period" and that's why the shoulders are wearing more quickly. Okay, so why in all the times that I brought my car in for rotation did no one mention this?

    I had an alignment done when I purchased the tires here originally, but not once since then did anyone mention I needed an alignment, and I certainly never rejected the service. I've only ever had these tires serviced by Joe's Tires.

    Now I'm being told I need 4 new tires, and luck would have it, they're having a "buy 3, get 1" deal at the moment. Why on Earth would I continue to do business here when they clearly dropped the ball? Jose couldn't even be bothered to respond to my email.

    They don't have the best prices, but despite this I was happy to come here to support a small business, but they aren't even! They're actually owned by the stealership, Toyota of Berkeley.

    Save your money and go to Costco, or if you want to support an ACTUAL local business, Don's Tires. I easily saved over $200 on a set of 4 tires by going elsewhere.

    thumb Adam E.
    11/05/2019

      Top notch service. One of my tires was slowly leaking air. One tire place said he'd fix in 15 min for $20 but was all flummoxed when I asked about a warranty, and put pressure on me saying if I didn't get it fixed right then my tire would immediately be flat and I'd ruin the tire (which I knew was not the case since the tire was very slowly leaking) Instead called Joe's Tires and Jose said bring over right away. Gabriella helped me out. They took out the screw, patched and refilled and filled other tires. Done in less than 20 minutes. I asked about guarantee, Gabriella said if in same place, bring back and we'll fix. I'd definitely come back. Business with long history, integrity, quality friendly service. Cost $32 with tax so more than the fraudster but I am happy to pay the price.

    thumb Patricia L.
    6/20/2019

      These folk are awesome! I needed a wheel barrow tire changed, but when I called a bunch of other folk they all suggested Joe's. Dropped it off at 6 pm and it was ready in the morning- with the ball bearings all re-greased and ready to go!

    Super friendly service and willing to tackle unconventional challenges

    thumb Guyton D.
    4/12/2019

      Somehow the tires on my car got to be 8 years and way too many miles old. Suspicious cracks appeared on the sidewalls, and it was time.
    Joe's Tires had great reviews and sounded very good on the phone, very competitive prices. Plus a location close to cafes to wait on.
    Everything was smooth and well organized. Easy to drop off the car, excellent price, pleasant to deal with.
    The minor surprise was that their price doesn't include a tire repair warranty, probably why their prices are so low. I decided to take my chances on flat tires in the future. Still an excellent deal and very good experience. I'll be back!

    thumb Dana T.
    3/02/2019

      The Manager Jose is a Jerk, my car got stolen and got dropped off at this tire shop. Police told me to come pick it up, Jose asked me to pay him $1800 to release the car. He wants to rip me off but fortunately police stepped in and demand him to release our car. Jose didn't wanna show me any evidence how they could charge me $1800 to release my car. He was so aggressive and said you wanna play game , I will play with you. Don't come down here if you don't get ripped off.

    thumb Junjian L.
    5/29/2019

      My car was drifting to the right. I was able to schedule a same day appointment. It's amazing that they are open 7 days a week, which is rare for auto places. I had to get a new set of tires and they provided me with a pretty great deal on the tires. Plus I get free rotation every 6k miles. Highly recommend!

    thumb Soups R.
    2/23/2019

      I went into Joe's Tires without an appointment on a Sunday morning with a flat tire and a tiny spare on. The courteous man at the front desk helped me right away and my car was done within an hour. I also asked them to check the health of the remaining tires, and after taking a look they confirmed that the remaining tires were only 50% used and I did not need to replace them. They did not take the opportunity to try to upsell me. Added bonus, there are a number of restaurants and shops in walking distance to pass the time.

    thumb Angelique A.
    3/03/2019

      Thanks yelp for helping me find this great place! Had to come in to get a 4 wheel alignment. I was kindly greeted by Jose right when I walked in. I told him my appointment time and reason and everything was quickly processed. He told me it'll take around 30-45 minutes which ended up being longer but not going to complain as there's a lot of cafes nearby where you can stay at (also right next to Trader Joe's). He comprehensively went over what was done and did not try to sell or pressure me to get any additional services which I appreciated. The interior is also very clean and organized, with a small waiting area.

    Overall very satisfied with my experience there and was in and out in less than 90 minutes. Joe's is a professional and customer-oriented place and I would highly recommend them if you need an alignment/tire service. Plus they charge much cheaper than the dealership. Efficient, and no-nonsense service!

    thumb Oliver D.
    6/27/2019

      Love going here! I have two cars that I take here all the time. I purchase new tires, get an alignment, & an oil change. Everyone here is super friendly, Jose & Carlos always take good care of me. If something isn't right, they recommend whatever it is I need. Been going here for over 5 years & I don't think I'll go anywhere else!

    thumb Sandra S.
    1/18/2020

      I appreciated the no pressure approach from Danny and Gabriela. Great customer service. My whole visit there was a refreshing change from the stigma that surrounds auto and tire technicians. Thanks guys I will be coming back.

    thumb Noah Z.
    10/10/2018

      Very fast and friendly service. They were able to take me as a walk in, which was very helpful. Clean inside and somehow doesn't have a strong tire smell, which is nice. Thanks Gabi!

    thumb Krista N.
    10/04/2018

      I went in to get my battery installed, and a tire at a different time and both times Danny helped me. He was very polite, very professional. He wanted to make sure I was comfortable while waiting he offering me coffee. The work was in a timely manner ( both of them ) And yes I recommend Joe's Tires to others.

    thumb Shelonda E.
    1/10/2019

      Great service
    They repaired my punctured tire in 30 minutes
    Clean and fast
    Deserves all positive feedbacks on Yelp!

    thumb Orhan G.
    2/23/2019

      Aggressive and incompetent.

    I walked in and saw a another customer frustrated and expressing his feeling that he had been ignored and not helped in an effective and respectful way.

    I should have turned around then.

    I told the person at the counter I needed a new patch job on my tire. Repatch the tire, it was patched by a friend in a bind and I want it done professionally. He said it would take 1.5 hours. I left my car and after the amount of time I received a call with an "update" that the mechanic had checked out the patch and that it wasn't leaking.  

    I never said it was leaking. They did nothing in the 1.5 hours I had to be without my car.

    When I went back to get my unserviced vehicle a mechanic gave me a bit of a stare and got into the car next to me. When I tried to pull out of their lot into the road I had to lay on my horn to stop him from backing up into my car. He saw me pulling out and continued to pull out and not stop even when I was honking. I nearly got hit from the front from incoming traffic because I had to keep pulling forward as I was beeping so that he would not hit me.

    Don't.

    thumb Marni L.
    10/10/2019

      Very friendly and polite- and surprisingly very reasonably priced! Extraordinary clean for a tire shop!

    thumb Raylan G.
    7/31/2019

      This is the best tire change place. Great guys. Whilst the other guys insisted on purchasing new tire. This guy changed the tires under the tire protection plan without any hassle. I didn't know if they had a shuttle service or not but Jose gave me a ride to my place upon request without hesitation. Seriously the best service. East or West Jose is the best.

    thumb Roop A.
    11/09/2018

      Jose is an angel! I called 45 mins before closing to ask if he could help put air in my tires. He did so gladly, with a smile, just as a kindness. I cannot tell you how much his good deed meant to me.

    I will happily recommend his business, and go back there for whatever they do and I need. People like Jose make this world a much, much kinder and better place. I am a very grateful customer......

    thumb MR Q.
    7/19/2019

      I brought in a flat tire to be repaired.  The technician told me that the problem was that the bead needed to be replaced, which he did.  He also tried to remount the fixed tire, but because I had broken the hub centric ring, he mounted the spare.  The technician clearly explained this to me when he took me in the work area to show me the problem.

    I then went to pay, but was told there would be no charge for all the time he spent fixing my tire and mounting the spare.  Amazing.

    The technician and man and woman working the desk couldn't have been nicer.  If I ever need tire work again I will be certain to go back to Joe's because of their courteous and generous treatment.

    thumb flubadub A.
    3/22/2019

      Great local tireshop around Berkeley. I happened to be around the area and unfortunately I got a flat tire. It was 30 minutes before their closing time on a holidays, 12/29, but they were nice and kind enough to take a look at the tire for me. The staff was friendly. After I waited for 20 mins, they told me it was not fixable, so I decided to go ahead and purchase 2 new tires from them, price was okay, would not be the cheapest, but given the service and the quality and the time, I appreciate them for taking care of the service and put me back on the road within 45-60 mins.

    thumb Nikki P.
    1/02/2020

      Unfortunately, I ended up with a flat tire about two weekends ago (definitely saw this coming, considering the tread on all four of my tires were worn down). I called Joe's Tires and was quoted $532.99 for "out the door pricing, with EVERYTHING included" for four Falken tires. I was happy with the price, so I scheduled a next-day appointment. The morning of my appointment, I called to inquire about pricing for a different set of tires. Come to find that, while I was told the $532.99 quote was for a comprehensive service, she noted on her end that it was without alignment, which would cost an additional $120. Had this information been disclosed to me during my initial inquiry, I would have continued to shop around and consider other local shops. Being that street cleaning was scheduled for the upcoming Monday, it was important that I towed my car and resolved this before the weekend ended. I spoke to Carlos and expressed my dissatisfaction with the service I received over the phone - I felt as though the person I originally spoke to knew I was working on a tight timeline and took advantage of that fact by being dishonest about pricing. He was willing to remedy the situation by providing excellent customer service. Carlos offered me the alignment for $89 and gave me a $10 discount on each tire to match the pricing of the tire I was calling to inquire about. The total for this service was approximately $570 (including all four tires, a tire disposal fee, alignment, balancing, wheel weights, and a warranty) and it was quick and easy. All tires purchased from Joe's come with a warranty, which is a huge plus! I plan to return as a customer in the future and to recommend this business to my friends and family. Thank you for the excellent customer service Carlos and Joe's Tires!

    thumb Hena K.
    3/15/2020

      Yelpers, you saved me with your reviews! You guys were spot on. My tire pressure light came on, stating that my right front tire was low even after I went to Chevron to fill the tires. I was worried I had a nail and had to get it plugged. First impression of Joe's Tires is that it is very clean and orderly. Danny was very friendly and helpful, stating our options and costs. Turns out my tire pressure for all 4 tires were off and the right tire happened to trigger my tire detention system, so I walked out the door with AMAZING service and it didn't cost a dime!

    thumb Siew Leng P.
    9/22/2018

      3000 miles on the new whip and I run over a screw into the sidewall. Dang!

    Joe's is the tire shop for Toyota. Pulled in, installed the spare, ordered a new tire, and it will be ready/mounted tomorrow.

    Thanks, Danny!

    thumb David N.
    9/20/2018

      I got two nails stuck in my tire and my tire pressure alert went up. Got my car fixed up same day for the price promised ($30) and patched up my tire. Highly recommend Tito, super friendly and efficient. Thanks for the good work!

    thumb Katherine M.
    1/18/2020

      Honest, clean, professional, convenient, and most importantly, great pricing with quality. Gave them a call late afternoon today, without any appointment, Jose answered the phone and told me come on in, they can do it! How great was that! They finished the job with four new tires out the door in no time. This is THE tires shop in the bay area you can really trust. Highly recommended!

    thumb Ryan L.
    12/13/2018

      I recently got a tire repaired here, and from the beginning to end of the process it was seamless! Gabriella was beyond helpful getting my insurance for the tire worked out, and she was very communicative throughout the entire process. From start to finish my tire repair took about 45 minutes, and I would highly recommend using Joe's for your tire needs!!!

    thumb Charlotte F.
    6/08/2019

      This was my first time here and it was recommended by the place I get my regular services done (because they don't do tires). They staff were EXTREMELY helpful in finding the tire I needed, pros and cons of the different options and really helped me to find the best option for my budget. I'm a creature of habit so I've definitely found my tire spot 🙂

    thumb Kourtney A.
    4/28/2019

      I have been here twice and they never disappointed me! Lately I went there with a flat tire before 8am. The staff had already taken care of me even they opened at 8am. Two tires got to be changed and I had to go to work by 9am. The staff told me it would take about 45 mins to an hour to be done. I told him about my work schedule and he guaranteed me that would work. Within 40 mins, my car was fixed!
    Great, efficient and professional service!

    thumb Phoebe L.
    12/11/2019

      Checked and fixed the pressure in my tires after my sensor came on at no charge. The gentleman who helped me was super nice. I'll be back when I need a new tire for sure. A+ experience!

    thumb centipede s.
    2/03/2019

      really great shop! the service was highly professional w/fast turnaround to fix my flat this weekend. they were also v. informative + on the level about my car needing eco-friendly tires.

    as an additional bonus, it was wonderful to find out that Joe's is the tire shop that the local official Toyota service center outsources all jobs to...this definitely helped solve the mystery of why I had such a poor experience trying to get a quote to fix this flat @ the toyota service center in albany. related, as I had suspected, Joe's confirmed there was nothing wrong w/my rim which the toyota service center had tried to sell me on to the tune of hundreds of dollars.

    hopefully, I will have no more mishaps in the near future but, if so, I will be gladly bringing my business here esp since they carry tires for toyota hybrids in stock (unlike Costco!)

    thumb Alexandra C.
    9/24/2019

      We got a flat tire in Berkeley and hobbled into Joe's Tires on a Saturday morning.  Even without an appointment, they were able to look at our car immediately.  It was determined that we needed a new tire which they didn't have in stock since  it was an uncommon type.  They went out of their way to get one from their warehouse in Richmond and had us on our way within aa couple of hours. They were very helpful and knowledgeable.  Tito was great!

    thumb Frances B.
    2/01/2020

      100% recommended! Everyone here was so friendly and helpful, although the room here was really limited. You won't go wrong with Joes Tire.

    thumb Xinxun Z.
    10/28/2019

      Came here twice for patches. Great price, fast service!          What else can I say?

    thumb Jak G.
    2/05/2020

      I wish I could rate this place higher, but based on my experience, 2 is the highest I can justify.

    My car gave tire-pressure-loss warning Friday. I re-pressurized the tire in question and brought the car to Joe's Saturday morning. They kept the car there for 3 hours - when I returned to pick up the car, they told me that they did a thorough check and found nothing wrong with the tire, they said that they even took the tire off the rim to double check. They assured me that I was okay to go.

    I took the car home and left it in garage over the weekend. Come Monday morning, the same tire was totally flat. Long story short, I took it to Don's Tires in Berkeley - sure enough there was a nail in it. I wished Joe's had done their job Saturday morning to save me all the craziness Monday morning struggling with a flat tire while trying to get to work.

    The guys at Joe's were very friendly and helpful - this is why I gave a 2 not 1. People working on tires in a tire shop should be able to find a nail in the tire.

    thumb Chris L.
    9/03/2019

      This is my go to place. The people here are extremely helpful & friendly. I always enjoy seeing Tito everytime I come in to get my car fixed.

    thumb Alesia D.
    3/05/2020

      Somehow on my drive up from LA, I completely destroyed the splash guard under my car, and I could hear it scraping along everywhere I drove in Berkeley. At that point, I just wanted the thing removed for fear of leaving it behind on a freeway on the way back to LA. I brought it in here first thing, on a Sunday morning no less, and was in and out in 10 minutes. They didn't even charge me just to rip the thing off and send me on my way. They basically just guaranteed that if I ever have problems in this area again, I'm coming here. Seems like a great spot to be a regular if you live near here--awesome service!

    thumb Goeffry T.
    9/01/2019

      Super friendly and helpful folks here. I came in stressed out on a Sunday when I was in the middle of moving and these guys made my life so much easier by giving me a courtesy ride to my new home and then picking me up again once my new tire was on. My new tire is on great and the price was awesome. I'll definitely be coming here next time I need anything to do with tires!

    thumb Karla P.
    3/03/2019

      Danny Damrong was super helpful!! He took care of my alignment needs and it was so smooth going from the time I was parking my car, till pick up!!  Took about an hour with my appointment and with the location of Joe's tires I was able to get a haircut and pick up a couple other things right in time before pick up. You also get a printout of before and after specs of how your tires were positioned which Danny explains that I had been dragging along previous to the alignment. Which means now, I'm gonna be rolling along more efficient. Thank you Danny Damrong and Joe's tires for and awesome transaction!!

    thumb Terry N.
    10/04/2018